Start as you mean to go on

Even though I’m not in London anymore and I don’t have the luxury of its sumptuous theatre scene, January has been good to me.

The M1 Singapore Fringe Festival which ran for 12 days this month was a delectable array of local and international productions. They weren’t conventional, and skirted around the mainstream in terms of content and presentation.

I was fortunate to cover 4 productions at the Festival, and here are my reviews (enlarge to read):

Re: Dance Theatre’s Revisit the Sunflower (16 Jan);

Dance Review - Straits Times, 18 Jan

Dance Review – Straits Times, 18 Jan

Compagnie Irene K’s Xtra Large (22 Jan) – IMO one of my better pieces;

Dance Review - Straits Times, 24 Jan

Dance Review – Straits Times, 24 Jan

Association Sam Hester | Perrine Valli’s Déproduction (24 Jan) for the Flying Inkpot – click here to read; and

Ferenc Fehér’s Tao Te (26 Jan).

Dance Review - Straits Times, 28 Jan

Dance Review – Straits Times, 28 Jan

I also saw Best Of, a very well-delivered monologue by Siti Khalijah, one of Singapore’s onstage stars. The text, written by Haresh Sharma, is based on material culled from several interviews. Enlightening on the topic of divorce in the Malay community, the play takes stereotypes and gives them personalities – colourful, real ones. At times laugh-out-loud funny, it is for the most part bittersweet. It shows that it is people like Khalijah’s character – people on the fringe – whom we should really be getting to know and seeing the best of.

On the last day, I made it to the highly publicised Haru and Mina, a photographic exhibition by Hideaki Hamada featuring his two children. Through his lens, he reminds me of the childhood I once had (and occasionally still think I am living in). My brother and I had adventures, all sorts of toys, and most importantly, have parents who love us. Very much.

I imagine there might be a similar picture of us in our family album 😀

Haru and Mina, Hideaki Hamada (2012)

Haru and Mina, Hideaki Hamada (2012)

So, at the end of January, I’m looking forward to the next 11 months of art, conversation, words, challenges, impressions and friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under M1 Singapore Fringe Festival, Review

Leave a Reply

